Contact USContact us

MDCAT : Total MBBS/BDS Seats in Punjab for Session 2017-18

The total number of seats of MBBS and BDS in Punjab are same as last year. No increase in number of seats happened for new session 2017-18.

MDCAT 2017 MBBS and BDS Seats for Session 2017-18

Reserved Seats


Out of 300 seats of Fatima Jinnah Medical University Lahore, the share of Federal Government is 67 which have been distributed as follows


Twenty (20) seats for Punjab are included in 206 open merit seats of Fatima Jinnah Medical University Lahore.

Remaining 47 seats are filled on merit by nominations from respective Provincial Governments and Nomination Boards. Please note that these seats (excluding those at Serial No. ix and x) are not in any way directly related to the Federal Government.

Hon’ble Islamabad High Court, Islamabad in its order dated 14.6.2016 (W.P.No. 433-2014) has declared the reservation of these seven seats (Serial No. ix and x) for the daughters of Federal Government Civil Servants as illegal and has ordered to admit candidates of Islamabad (ICT) against these seats w.e.f. Session 2016-17.

The Chief Minister Punjab has approved reservation of one (01) seat for MBBS course (w.e.f. session 2010-11) for Cholistani students at Sheikh Zayed Medical College, Rahim Yar Khan, out of its current allocation on open merit basis with the following criteria:

  • Such a candidate should otherwise be eligible for admission into Medical College (having passed F.Sc from any of the districts Bahawalnagar, Bahawalpur or Rahim Yar Khan and passed Entry Test in accordance with the required percentage.
  • The candidate must be Cholistani by birth and should have actual residence in Cholistan, as verified by Cholistan Development Authority.

Note :

Seats for under developed districts provided as per the judgment of Supreme Court of Pakistan and on the direction of the Chief Minister Punjab.
Federally Administrated Tribal Area seats.

Out of 72 MBBS seats under PTAP, 7 are reserved for Afghan Refugees at previously existing seven institutions

Under Developed Districts Seats

Reciprocal Seats:  Admission of students from other Provinces


AIMC   Allama Iqbal Medical College
AJK    Azad Jammu and Kashmir
AMC  Ameer-ud-Din Medical College
BDS  Bachelor of Dental Surgery
DCD  de’Montmorency College of Dentistry
DGMC  Dera Ghazi Khan Medical College
DSFMU  Dental Section Faisalabad Medical University
EAD  Economic Affairs Division
FATA  Federally Administered Tribal Area
FJMC  Fatima Jinnah Medical University
FSF  Foreign Self-Finance
GKMC  Ghazi Khan Medical College, D.G.Khan
GMC  Gujranwala Medical College
HEC  Higher Education Commission
HSSC  Higher Secondary School Certificate
IBCC  Inter Board Committee of Chairmen
IELTS  International English language Testing System
KEMU  King Edward Medical University
KMSMC  Khawaja Muhammad Safdar Medical College
KPK  Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
MBBS  Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery
MCQ  Multiple Choice Question
NICOP  National Identity Card for Overseas Pakistanis
NID  Nishtar Institute of Dentistry
NMU  Nishtar Medical University
NOC  No Objection Certificate
NSMC  Nawaz Sharif Medical College
NUML National University of Modern Languages
OSPE Objectively Structured Performance Evaluation
PATA Provincially Administered Tribal Area
PEEF Punjab Educational Endowment Fund
FMU Faisalabad Medical University
PMDC Pakistan Medical and Dental Council
POC Pakistan Origin Card
PTAP Pakistan Technical Assistance Programme
QAMC Quaid-e- Azam Medical College
RMU Rawalpindi Medical University
SAT II Scholastic Aptitude Test (Subject)
SEQ Short Essay Question
SIMS Services Institute of Medical Sciences
SKZMDC Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Medical & Dental College
SLMC Sahiwal Medical College
SMC Sargodha Medical College
SSC Secondary School Certificate
SZMC Sheikh Zayed Medical College
TOEFL Test of English as a Foreign Language
UHS University of Health Sciences Lahore